rm_worst_case_finder - SynoFin Risikomanagement Service AG

  • About
  • News
  • Carrer
  • DE /EN
Title
Go to content
RiskMan
Worst Case Finder
Traditional stress tests carry the risk that loss calculations in hypothetical scenarios may give a false illusion of certainty if there are much more dangerous scenarios of similar plausibility. The scenarios usually considered, which simulate past extreme situations, are financial-mathematically and stochastically implausible. This leads to the decision dilemma: "Should we restructure our portfolio if a bad loss occurs in a 1000 year scenario? In addition, uncritically used proxy solutions (e.g. DAX-Underlying for all DE securities) result in strong smoothing of the risk exposure and thus a considerable underestimation of the risk in the stress scenario.

The stress test scenario technique of the RiskMan Worst Case Finder offers a solution. The concept for Worst Case Finder was developed at the Austrian National Bank in order to determine systemic risks from financial instruments in banks and funds through stress tests. In order to arrive at plausible scenarios, all relevant risk factors of each portfolio must be determined separately. This can be solved using financial mathematics over the so-called Mahalanobis distance. Subsequently, the Worst Case plausibility above a defined threshold can be determined. The central statement of this worst case search is: "Above the plausibility threshold, no worse loss than kmax can occur".
Due to its hierarchical and granular structure and the development language Matlab, the Worst Case Finder is predestined for the risk calculation of common and complex financial instruments. With the integrated multi-processor capability, even very large and complex portfolios with conventional server equipment can be calculated in minutes.


Are you interested or do you have any questions ?
Make an appointment now.
Back to content

rm_worst_case_finder - SynoFin Risikomanagement Service AG

Title
Direkt zum Seiteninhalt
RiskMan
Worst Case Finder

Traditionelle Stresstests bergen die Gefahr, dass die Verlustberechnungen in hypothetischen Szenarios eine falsche Illusion von Sicherheit vermittelt, falls es wesentlich gefährlichere Szenarien von ähnlicher Plausibilität gibt. Die üblicherweise betrachteten Szenarien, welche vergangene Extremsituationen nachbilden, sind finanzmathematisch und stochastisch unplausibel. Dies führt zum Entscheidungsdilemma: „Sollen wir unser Portfolio umschichten, wenn in einem 1000Jahr-Szenario ein schlimmer Verlust ensteht? Darüber hinaus ergeben sich aus unkritisch verwendeten Proxylösungen (z.B. DAX-Underlying für alle DE-Titel) starke Glättungen im Risikoexposure und damit eine erhebliche Unterschätzung des Risikos im Stressszenario.

Die Stresstest-Szenario-Technik des RiskMan Worst-Case-Finder bietet hier Abhilfe. Das Konzept für den Worst Case Finder wurde in der österreichischen Nationalbank entwickelt, um über Stresstests systemische Risiken aus Finanzinstrumenten in Banken und Fondsgesellschaften festzustellen. Um zu plausiblen Szenarien zu kommen, müssen alle relevanten Risikofaktoren jedes Portfolios separat ermittelt werden. Dies kann finanzmathematisch über die sogenannte Mahalanobis Distanz gelöst werden. Folgend kann der über einer zu definierenden Plausibilitätsschwelle liegende Worst Case ermittelt werden. Die zentrale Aussage dieser Worst Case Suche lautet: „Über der Plausibilitätsschwelle kann kein schlimmerer Verlust als kmax eintreten“.
Durch seinen hierarchischen und granularen Aufbau und die Entwicklungssprache Matlab ist der Worst Case Finder prädestiniert zur Risikoberechnung gängiger und komplexer Finanzinstrumente. Mit der integrierten Multi-Prozessor-Fähigkeit können auch sehr grosse und komplexe Portfolios mit herkömmlicher Serverausstattung im Minutenbereich berechnet werden.


Sie haben Fragen oder Interesse?
Gleich Termin vereinbaren.
Zurück zum Seiteninhalt